skip to content | skip to navigation
Read our School Blog

Governing Body

Governing Body meeting.

As Victoria School is in Federation with Cherry Oak School we have one Governing Body for both schools. The Governing Board of the Federation has a Memorandum of Understanding with the Board of Victoria College, enabling the College to benefit from being associated with the Federation.

The Governors have a great deal of experience and offer us both challenge and support as necessary. All the Governors are extremely dedicated and give generously of their time to both schools in the Federation.

Our Governors are made up of representatives from key stakeholder groups - parents, staff, the Local Authority and the local community.

We generally have two full Governing Body meetings a term and we also have committees for Finance, Personnel, Teaching and Learning and Buildings, Health and Safety.

You can contact the Governing Body through the Clerk to the Governors - Ms Clare Blackshaw on the main school telephone number.

Governing Body of the Federation of Cherry Oak School and Victoria School

Name Governor Type Term Ends
Clare Mills Chair of Governors, Co-opted Governor 03/02/21
Charlotte Bull Vice Chair, Co-opted Governor 30/09/19
Julie Fardell Executive Head Teacher  
John Pemberton Elected Parent Governor 22/11/22
Lisa Wooton Elected Parent Governor 22/11/22
Anne Barnes Co-opted Governor, Governor for Safeguarding,  Medical Conditions and Pupil Premium 11/07/21
Sadie Bolton Co-opted Governor 12/7/21
Martin Carpenter Co-opted Governor 11/7/21
Lesley Jackson Co-opted Governor 14/3/22
Sue McCorkindale Co-opted Governor, Link Governor for Curriculum & SEN 11/07/21
Christine Dalby-Ali Co-opted Governor 11/12/22
Peter Douglas Osborn Co-opted Governor 3/12/19
Kristin Sanders Co-opted Governor 11/12/22
Bill Woodhouse Co-opted Governor 11/07/21
Onos Emmanuel-Kokoh LA Governor 14/3/22
Mark Cottam Elected Staff Governor 16/4/21
Vacancy Co-opted Governor  
Clare Blackshaw Clerk to the Governors  


Committee Members
Finance Lesley Jackson (Chair), Christine Dalby-Ali, Peter Douglas Osborn, John Pemberton, Bill Woodhouse, Julie Fardell
Personnel/Pay Charlotte Bull (Chair), Sue McCorkindale (Vice Chair), Clare Mills, Kristin Sanders, Julie Fardell
Teaching & Learning Clare Mills (Chair), Sadie Bolton (Vice Chair), Anne Barnes, Sue McCorkindale, Julie Fardell
Buildings, Health & Safety Bill Woodhouse (Chair),  Peter Douglas Osborn, Martin Carpenter, Julie Fardell
Appeals Anne Barnes, Peter Douglas Osborn, Kristin Sanders, Bill Woodhouse
Governing Body Audit Anne Barnes, Julie Fardell, Sue McCorkindale
School Resilience Planning Team Pauline McKenna, Julie Fardell, Bill Woodhouse, Martin Carpenter

Declarations of Pecuniary Interests

Name of Governor Relevant Business Interests Other Schools Governed Any relationships with other governors and school staff,including spouses, partners and relatives Any other Pecuniary interests Membership of Professional bodies
Anne Barnes    Trustee of Victoria College Ltd Child attends Victoria College None None
Charlotte Bull Glover Priest Solicitors None Children attend Victoria School None None
Sadie Bolton Careers adviser - Connexions Trustee of Victoria College Ltd Child attends Victoria School None None
Mark Cottam HLTA- Cherry Oak School None Child attends Victoria  School.   Wife is Cover Supervisor at Cherry Oak School. None None
Christine Dalby-Ali None None Niece attends Victoria School None None
Martin Carpenter None None None None None
Julie Fardell Executive Head Teacher at Federation of Cherry Oak School, Victoria School and Victoria College Trustee of Victoria College Ltd, President of Friends of Victoria None None NAHT
Sue McCorkindale Retired None None None None
Clare Mills Educational Consultant - Millhouse Educational Solutions Ltd None Educational Consultant None ASCL, Future Leaders
Kristin Sanders None None Child attends Victoria School None None
Bill Woodhouse None Trustee of Victoria College Ltd None None None
Peter Douglas Osborn Charles Osborn Ltd, Shencare Communiity Transport, BCC Member None None Trustee for Moseley School of Art Institute of lighting Engineers, Institute of Metallurgy materials and Mining, chartered Engineer
Onos Emmanuel - Kokoh EOJ UK LTD None   None None
Lesley Jackson Interim CEO Waterplus Ltd None None None Member of Institute of Chartered Accountant in England and Wales
John Pemberton Self Employed
IT Solutions
St Clements CofE Primary Academy Child attends Victoria School Charity Trusteeship
Patient Group
Lisa Wooton None None Child attends Cherry Oak School None None

Also see:

All documents are in pdf format.

Profiles of the Governing Body

Clare Mills, BA Hons PGCE NPQH: Chair of Governors

Originally from Newport Gwent, I came to Birmingham in 1977 to do a Spanish degree at Birmingham University and never went home! I’ve taught in challenging schools all over Birmingham and was accepted for The Future Leaders Programme for headship in 2010. Since then I have been privileged to serve children in Birmingham, Middlesbrough and Liverpool as a Consultant Head Teacher. I’ve recently returned to the area after living in Smethwick with my late husband and am happy to be back near my children and grandchildren. I was honoured when asked to join the board of governors in February 2017 and am very proud to represent all the governors as Chair. I look forward to working with all of you in maintaining and improving the provision for our super young people across the federation.