Scroll to content
School Logo

Victoria School

"Working Together for Success"

School Logo

Victoria School

Working Together for Success



Meet the Governors


Welcome to our Governors’ section.

Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor.


Governing Body


As Victoria School is in a Federation with Cherry Oak School we have one Governing Body for both schools. The Governing Board of the Federation has a Memorandum of Understanding with the Board of Victoria College, enabling the College to benefit from being associated with the Federation.


The Governors have a great deal of experience and offer us both challenge and support as necessary. All the Governors are extremely dedicated and give generously of their time to both schools in the Federation.


Our Governors are made up of representatives from key stakeholder groups - parents, staff, the local authority and the local community.


We have four Full Governing Body meetings during the school year. We also have committees for Finance, Personnel, Teaching & Learning and Buildings, Health & Safety which usually meet once each term.


You can contact the Governing Body through the Clerk to the Governors - Mr Tim Bennett by email on


Governor Types and Terms of Office



Governor Type

Term Ends


Clare Mills

Chair of Governors  (Co-opted governor)


Charlotte Bull

Vice Chair (Co-opted Governor)


Gary Coffey

Executive Head Teacher

Ex officio

Ross AshcroftHead Teacher (Cherry Oak)Ex officio


Elected staff governor


John Pemberton

Elected parent governor


Ann Ellis

Local authority governor


Sadie Bolton

Co-opted governor


Martin Carpenter

Co-opted governor


Gillian HillCo-opted governor8/12/25

Lesley Jackson

Co-opted governor


Sue McCorkindale

Co-opted governor


Kristin SandersCo-opted governor28/03/27
Jackie TongeCo-opted governor8/12/24
Lisa WoottonCo-opted governor7/12/26
Tim BennettClerk 


Governing Board Committees 2022-2023





Mr Ashcroft, Mr Carpenter, Mr Coffey, Mrs Hill, Mrs Jackson (Chair), Mr Pemberton (Vice Chair), Miss Tonge


Mr Ashcroft, Mrs Bull, Mr Coffey, Mrs Hill, Mrs McCorkindale, Mrs Mills

Teaching & Learning

Mrs Ellis, Mrs McCorkindale, Mrs Mills (Chair), Miss Wootton

Buildings, Health & Safety

Mr Ashcroft, Mr Carpenter (Chair), Mr Coffey, Mrs Hill, Mr Pemberton

Head Teacher Performance ManagementMrs Bull, Mrs Mills, Mr Pemberton
DisciplineAll non-staff governors are enrolled as members of this committee and a panel of three governors drawn from the list should a meeting be required.
AppealsAll non-staff governors are enrolled as members of this committee and a panel of three governors drawn from the list should a meeting be required.

Link Governors 2022-2023


Safeguarding (including attendance)Mrs Bolton
SEND & CurriculumMrs McCorkindale
Medical Needs & Looked After ChildrenMrs Sanders
Stakeholder Engagement Miss Wootton
Pupil Data & Pupil PremiumMrs Ellis
Governor InductionMrs Mills
Well-beingMrs Bull


Register of Governors' Pecuniary and Personal Interests

Governors' Biographies

Governors' Newsletter Autumn 2022

Governors' Newsletter July 2021

NGA Awards for Outstanding Vision and Strategy 2019

Memorandum Of Understanding with Victoria College